The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya set for September home video release

It has been announced through a password protected page by FUNimation Entertainment that it will be offering The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya anime on DVD and Blu-ray on September 13th. The purpose of this is to celebrate the 10th anniversary of the series. Now the password “snowwhite” for the page is a reference to a key point in the series. There will be pre-orders for the release as well and a standard as well as Blu-ray Disc Ultimate Collection edition for the series. The standard edition will be available as a DVD and Blu-ray. From what has been confirmed all the episodes of the series will be included as well as the added season 2 episodes that released during its re-broadcast. A guide to watch the series in broadcast order and in DVD order will also be included, many of the extras from the original Bandai release even ones not yet to release in North America will also release.

[Image: mI37FA2.jpg][Image: GBr70et.jpg]

In the Ultimate Collectors Edition that will include the contents from the standard edition and the animes The Melancholy of Haruhi-chan Suzumiya, Nyoroun Churuya-san and The Disappearance of Nagato Yuki-chan. The series The Melancholy of Haruhi-chan Suzumiya and Nyoroun Churuya-san will release standalone on September 13th  and The Disappearance of Nagato Yuki-chan will release as a DVD/Blu-ray disc combo pack. Mind you that this will The Melancholy of Haruhi-chan Suzumiya and Nyoroun Churuya-san will only be available on Blu-ray through buying it on the Ultimate Collectors Edition, Now The There is also a filler box with art cards featuring the main characters of the series set to be included, and a statement by FUNimation was given about them stating that the filler box “happens to be about the same size as a Blu-ray case and can be remove to fit something else…”

[Image: pXef4r9.jpg]

The series originally began as a novel series on June 6th 2003 and has since then continued, a manga would later release for it that began September 26th 2005 and ended September 26th 2013 releasing 20 volumes. An anime adaption of the series would later release April 3rd 2006 and end July 3rd 2006 releasing 14 episodes and a second season that released May 22nd 2009 and ended September 11th 2009 with 14 episodes releasing in total. A movie would also release on February 6th 2010 continuing the series. Many other spinoffs and side stories would be released for the series manga/novel and anime series. Finally a plot summary of the series can be seen below quoted from MAL:

Kyon, your typical high school student, has long given up his belief in the supernatural. However, upon meeting Haruhi Suzumiya, he quickly finds out that it is the supernatural that she is interested in; aliens, time travelers and espers among other things. When Haruhi laments about the lack of intriguing clubs around school, Kyon inspires Haruhi to form her own club. As a result, the SOS Brigade is formed, a club which specializes in all that is the supernatural.
Much to his chagrin, Kyon, along with the silent bookworm, Yuki Nagato, the shy and timid Mikuru Asahina, and the perpetually smiling Itsuki Koizumi, are recruited as members. The story follows the crazy adventures that these four endure under their whimsical leader, Haruhi.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s